Just looking for a little help
Posted: 12 October 2011 03:17 PM   [ Ignore ]
Terrier
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  54
Joined  2011-10-04

Here’s the situation,
I have limited experience in Martial Arts. Couple Krav Maga classes until I found out the instructor was… let’s just say less than ideal. He had never trained in Krav Maga before he did a 2 week course with an “instructor for the ISDF” whose name he wouldn’t give out. I did some MMA with the ATA in Havelock, NC before I got injured and the Corps made me stop going. I have a grey belt in MCMAP. So like I said, my experience is incredibly limited! They offer Aiki-Jujutsu out here, and I will probably start that once my schedule settles down a little bit. Right now I have gear certifications, Rifle Ranges, Sgt’s Course, and a nice little week long trip to Kuala Lumpur to relax after the craziness. This should all be wrapping up right around mid-March. At that point I will be working a nice 0730-1530 job that will accomodate class a couple times a week. In the mean time though, I would like to at least be getting some time on the bags and such. The gym I do Crossfit in has a Martial Arts room. There are 2 heavy bags, 2 focus boards (I think that’s what they are called) 2 Speed bags, and 2 (bear with me here, I don’t know what they are called. They are similar to speed bags in size and shape, but they are suspended between two ropes, one of which is elastic). So, that’s the gear that I have to work with right now. Like I said, my experience is limited, but I know basic hand, elbow, foot, knee strikes. Could someone help me throw together some basic drills I can be doing on my own after the WOD everyday? There are also floor mats, so break falls, and forward shoulder rolls can be done as well. I train by myself right now which severely holds me back, at least I feel like it does right now. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Signature 

Molon Labe
Exitus Acta Probat
Sic Vis Pacem Parabellum