Looking for some guidance on CFSB once you hit a failing point
Posted: 17 January 2013 01:35 PM   [ Ignore ]
Puppy Dawg
Rank
Total Posts:  15
Joined  2008-12-04

I would like to start and say I am not a beginner, but probably intermediate.
My wife and I are both CFL1 and both coach (me non profit for LEOs, and her a few private clients) and have been doing CF for a couple of years (in gyms with coaches and at home)

We are getting ready to start the 3rd week of CFSB and both have been seeing gains in our Squat, Deadlift, and front squat using 3 rounds of 5 reps. 
We have been scaling the WODS from the main site or using past ones to meet the time suggestions following the heavy lifts and have been doing really well there.

Where are problem seems to be is our Strict Press.
We started the cycle with about 80 of our 5 rep max and have been working our way up. 
Today we both hit our old 3 rep max on a 5 rep lift, then tried to add 5lbs and we both failed at rep 4 of the third set.

So, should we try again in week 3 for the 3 rounds of 5 rep max with the same weight we used this week, or change just the strict press to 5 rounds of 3 and start see-sawing the weight up from there?

We are also both reading Starting Strength and trying to use some of the lifting techniques in there as well and really be critical of our lifts. 

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Steve

Posted: 18 January 2013 03:52 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Top Dawg
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  846
Joined  2010-05-25

Working sets of 3 is part of the program. But you could also look into fractional plates. Sometimes the 5lb jump is too much and the fractional plates allow progress in smaller increments.

Signature 

M/42/6’3.5/207
Current#: 206

CF DOB 05/25/10

Posted: 18 January 2013 05:35 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Boxer
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  560
Joined  2012-05-16

From GD..