GHD issue
Posted: 12 April 2013 01:53 PM   [ Ignore ]
Terrier
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  69
Joined  2010-08-08

Hi all,
    So first I’ll give a little background, so that you may better understand my situation.  So, I’ve been doing crossfit since mid 2010, I feel that I had gotten fairly good and was doing most WOD’s at the pack level.  I went the gym 7 days a week, rest days were still a fun time to practice stuff or swim in the pool at the gym.  I had gotten to the point, where I understood each movement well, and was working up my weight, also GHD’s have always been a favorite of mine,  any ghd workout posted, I could keep up with the RX guys on that part.  GHD’s had never been an issue and I enjoyed doing them.  So moving on to me currently, I found out about 9 months ago, that I had MS - It really hit hard and made life tough (the “medicine” only made things worse) and I had also lost about 17 lbs which im sure was all muscle.  I was not able to workout until I got my life figured out,  started eating properly, got to the gym anyway even though initially my workouts were usually poor attempts at extra amounts of movement and ditched the “medicine”.  Today life is good, I’m back into real WOD’s my body feels great and im following along with the site again (only buttercup level for most days).  So that being said, doing all the exercises I used to love but at lower weights and reps feels good.  Since GHD’s were always a favorite of mine, I got right back on,  I’m only able to do about 6 or 7 before I cant bring myself back up, the issue I’m having is, my back hurts (right near my waist) when doing some of the GHD’s, making this more of a challenge to get back to old habits.  So what I was wondering, am I doing something wrong, or do I just need stronger back and hips before I’m able to do this without hurting?  If strength is the issue, what could I do to prepare my back and hips to be able to handle this movement.  Tips and Advice would be great! Thanks