RE: Daily Work out
Posted: 21 August 2013 02:21 PM   [ Ignore ]
Stray Dawg
RankRank
Total Posts:  23
Joined  2013-06-05

I’ve been doing Crossfit fit for about 5-6 months now. This question is for those of you that are well versed in programing or who have a much more in-depth understanding of what daily WOD’s or work days should “consist” of. I hope this makes sense.
I am not a member of an Box here in WA State, however I do frequently read topics on the Box located in Bellvue.
I follow the daily WOD that is posted on “crossfit.com”... However, What I see on other sites is that they indicate a warm up, which I get, and do.
Then they have a WOD, then they have “skills” work, and then more times then often, they have what seems to be a “metcon”.

* My question is; should everyday work day consist of: “WOD” work, “skills work”, and a “Metcon”.. Anyones help is greatly appreciated. The one thing that I know I lack in is “cardio endurance” which i feel is severly affecting my output during certain WODs. Again, I hope this all makes sense.

Signature 

LocalsOnly worship

Posted: 21 August 2013 02:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Top Dawg
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3675
Joined  2007-12-23

Hmmm,
I looked at about a week of CrossfitBellvue’s WOD’s and it looks like they warm-up, often with a barbell, do a strength series then do a WOD/metcon.

Many boxes do this (w/u, strength/metcon) for a couple reasons,
1) most people come in “under strong”
2) most understrong newbies will skip ME/strength days—- they haven’t learned how much fun lifting is, the women worry about “getting too bulky”, initially lifting doesn’t get you the same sweaty hit that metcon’s do, lifting just isn’t sexy.
3) People, read clients, love Metcon’s

Skill work: we all have goats, HSPU, L-sits, positioning for Olympic lifts, running red face , etc etc etc, Yes, do something even if its just a couple minutes every time you workout