Overdid it - on the bench again - suggestions?
Posted: 05 November 2013 08:13 PM   [ Ignore ]
Pack Member
RankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  217
Joined  2011-06-28

Hi

I’ve been crossfitting on and off for a few years now and enjoy the workouts more than traditional machines and circuit training. I’ve been using scaling here, making up my own WOD’s and using CustomWOD online for workouts. Recently I was exhausted on a WOD and pushed through to complete it.
3RFT
50 sumo deadlift hi pulls, 45#
25 pushups
100m run with 45# plate overhead
25 pull ups

I was wrecked after the WOD, and 4 days later I still have swelling and pain in my elbows when I bend my arms. I can’t straighten them or bend them all the way. Tomorrow I think it will be back to normal.

I had thought I knew my limits, and scaled the third round with a small assistance band to help me finish the WOD. I tried to avoid muscular failure and broke up ALL the sets in all rounds of pushups and pullups to help avoid this.

My goal is to feel good about working out and maintain or improve my strength and stamina. When I suffer injuries (even short term swelling and pain) it’s moving me in the wrong direction. How do I figure out when to call it quits on a WOD to avoid this but not sell myself short? 

Truth be told this happens more than I care to admit, and more frequently when I join a group class and feel the pressure to compete with fellow crossfitters. I’ve never quit on a WOD in a group, and I’m not sure any trainer I’ve been with would even allow it.

Experienced coaches out there - do you have any suggestions for me?

Tony

Posted: 06 November 2013 07:20 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Boxer
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  679
Joined  2013-03-15