Road to being an athlete
Posted: 26 April 2014 12:54 AM   [ Ignore ]
Puppy Dawg
Rank
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2014-04-25

hello all!

This is my first post on such a site so please be gentle wink

to give you a bit of background about myself first before i get into the main question….
i am a 25 yr ol;d male 6ft 1inch 90kg with excersise induced asthma
I have been practicing crossfit for nearly 3 months now and safe to say i am addicted.
I have been playing rugby at fairly high level (just under international) for nearly 10 years before i had to retire due to injuries and going to university.

That was several years ago now. I have been keeping active as i could not having access to a gym or steady income in those years. With my excersie induced asthma (which only is triggered by intense exercise but is maintained by the same thing) i never realy felt comfortable in pushing myself.

Recently at my box here in maidstone uk (check us out http://invictusfitness.co.uk/) we were talking after one particularly deadly wod (14.4/5 i think) we chatted about what it takes to be an athlete and there are mixed views on how this is done.

Me personally my definition of an athlete is someone who trains and competes for a living while studying the latest training methodologies and implementing a consistent and robust schedule of clean eating and exercise.

I would like to know if anyone here is/knows and athlete who is willing to share there journey from start to finish. I know I am no where close to what most people in the games are like but is that what an athlete realy is? opinions in the box are divided so i am turning to your wisdomes to enlighten us all.