Administrator
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14108
Joined  2004-06-18
Jerry36937 - 09 August 2008 11:07 AM
TexasPatrick - 09 August 2008 10:16 AM
Jerry36937 - 09 August 2008 09:37 AM
Garddawg - 08 August 2008 09:36 PM

Okay, so some of you will be shocked by todays WOD.  I am going to be frank (its what I’m known for) elite fitness is hard and it takes TIME to develop.  Most people want to be Big Dawgs right NOW.  They will jump in and do this WOD in 20-30 minutes.  Its not the way to get to the goal. Be patient, develop your skills and you will get there.  Being pig headed and attempting something like this when you are not ready will not help you on the path.  This week a couple BX trainers did the following:
5 rounds
5 bodyweight cleans
10 box jumps, 42”

The times averaged under 10 minutes. 

I’m sorry, what does this mean?  Are you suggesting that it’s preferable to drop some reps so that you can finish in under 10min?  I’m new to crossfit, so please excuse if it’s a basic Question.

Quickly looking at the comments right now, it seems most people fell between 15min-25min, with quite a few going 25-35.  Are you suggesting that they should instead edit their routines?

Short answer: yes. 

And technicall not dropping reps, its doing a scaling that gives you a big dog time when you are racing all out, while maintaining form and full ROM to finish. 

He’s pointing out that if you trudge through it, even if it’s hard, you’re not getting the benefit of the WOD.  The wod he references is similar though worse because of the repetition on the hip action, meaning you get no rest, and they came in under 10 minutes.  They’d probably come in about the same on this wod, albeit with grip issues. 

So yes, if it takes you 30 minutes . . . you’re, well, um, how to phrase this nicely .  . . doing it wrong.  There.  I got it out.  If you do it in 3 minutes, you’re on the right path, but you may consider bumping up to a higher scaling.