Pull-Ups
Posted: 29 August 2009 10:26 AM   [ Ignore ]
Hound
RankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  84
Joined  2009-05-26

I have been Crossfitting for about 4 months now. I am in the best overall shape I have ever been in! I am progressing great in everything but pull-ups. This is a very important excercise in CF. I can do maybe 8-10 strict pullups on a good day. I am unable to do kipping cause I currently work out of town and all the pull-up bars I have access to are very low(and I am about 6’2”). Sometimes I almost have to do a L pull-up. I have tried to suppliment pull-ups but I was actually getting worse, so I just do them now with the CFWU and if they are called for in the WOD. I would not really be concerned but I just am not getting any better with them.

Should I try supplimenting again and just stick with it longer? I do have rings as well for possible rows.

Any suggestions appreciated!

Signature 

Pressure makes diamonds.

38/M/6’2” 210lbs

Posted: 29 August 2009 12:23 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14119
Joined  2004-06-18

Have you tried mixing your grip?

Signature 

All of life’s problems can be solved by heavy deadlifts.

M/54/5’11”/190

Posted: 29 August 2009 03:23 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Hound
RankRankRankRankRank
Joined  2009-05-26

Not really I guess I could try chin-ups but that is different from pull-ups and uses different muscles. I do know in the past I could do more chin-ups than pull-ups.

Signature 

Pressure makes diamonds.

38/M/6’2” 210lbs

Posted: 29 August 2009 04:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Total Posts:  14119
Joined  2004-06-18

We don’t really look at “using different muscles”.  When the WOD calls for pull ups Coach means, and has stated, I don’t care how you get your ****** chin over the bar as long as it gets over the bar.  Chin ups, pull ups or mixed grip doesn’t matter.

Signature 

All of life’s problems can be solved by heavy deadlifts.

M/54/5’11”/190